Instrument
Instrument
Instrument
Instrument

Miniaturisation pour la Synthèse, l’Analyse et la Protéomique (MSAP) USR 3290

FT-ICR 2D

Coordinator: Christian Rolando

The current contracting saw the growing power of FT-ICR 2D theme was announced in the projects of the USR but not started. A mass spectrometer provides access to both types of information for a molecule that are mass and structural information obtained by fragmentation.

To a mixture, the mass information is obtained by an MS spectrum while the structural information requires a MS / MS spectrum of the mixture per molecule. A mass spectrometer identifies ten thousand molecules in a complex mixture making it impossible to obtain all structural data.

The ion cyclotron resonance devices allow for the most resolute measures masses (m / delta (m) exceeds ten million) with an accuracy of ten ppb (parts per billion), which provides the empirical formula CxHyNzOvSw … organic compounds to the weight of 1000 Daltons or resolved measurement of the isotopic mass of an antibody (mass 150,000 Da).

Our goal was to develop the techniques of multidimensional Fourier transform that develop at once complete structural data regardless of the complexity of the mixture.
The development of computer applications for the FT-ICR 2D project is carried out by engineer Marc Haegelin.

FT-ICR 2D

Instrument
Instrument
Instrument
Instrument

Miniaturisation pour la Synthèse, l’Analyse et la Protéomique (MSAP) USR 3290

FT-ICR 2D

Coordinateur : Christian Rolando

La contractualisation en cours a vu la montée en puissance du thème FT-ICR 2D qui était annoncé dans les projets de l’USR mais non débuté. Un spectromètre de masse donne accès à deux types d’information pour une molécule qui sont la masse et une information structurale obtenue par fragmentation.

Pour un mélange, l’information de masse est obtenue en un spectre MS tandis que l’information structurale exige un spectre MS/MS par molécule du mélange. Un spectromètre de masse identifie une dizaine de milliers de molécules dans un mélange complexe rendant impossible l’obtention de toutes les données structurales.

Les appareils à résonance cyclotronique ionique permettent de faire les mesures de masses les plus résolues (m/delta(m) supérieur à dix millions) avec une précision de dix ppb (partie par milliard) ce qui permet d’obtenir la formule brute CxHyNzOvSw… des composés organiques jusqu’à la masse de 1000 Daltons ou la mesure résolue du massif isotopique d’un anticorps (masse 150 000 Da).

Notre objectif a été de développer les techniques de transformée de Fourier multidimensionnelles qui permettent d’acquérir en une fois les données structurales complètes indépendamment de la complexité du mélange.
Le développement des applications informatiques pour le projet 2D FT-ICR est réalisé par l’ingénieur Marc Haegelin.

FT-ICR 2D